Braun a Silver Slugger

For the second straight season, Ryan Braun will have some hardware to show for his efforts at the plate. 

After batting .320 with 32 home runs and 114 RBIs, Braun became the first Brewer since Paul Molitor more than two decades ago to win a Silver Slugger Award in consecutive years. Since 1980, the awards have been given annually to the best offensive player at each position as selected by the Major League Baseball managers and coaches, and Braun was honored alongside Andre Ethier and Matt Kemp of the Dodgers as the top offensive outfielders in the National League. 

The other NL Silver Sluggers were Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols, Phillies second baseman Chase Utley, Nationals third baseman Ryan Zimmerman, Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez and Cubs pitcher Carlos Zambrano

Braun is the third Brewer to take home the award in consecutive seasons. Molitor was the American League’s top designated hitter in 1987 and 1988, and Cecil Cooper won the award as the AL first baseman in three straight seasons from 1980-82.

The specially designed Silver Slugger will be presented to each player by a representative of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., makers of Louisville Slugger, in a ceremony early in the 2010 season. The trophy is three feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league.

Before 2005, the Brewers had been shut out in Silver Slugger balloting since 1990, but now they have a winner in four of the past five seasons. Prince Fielder, who was edged at first base for the second straight year by Pujols, won in 2007. Then-Brewers outfielder Carlos Lee was a Silver Slugger in 2005. 

Braun’s numbers were certainly deserving in 2009. With 203 hits, he became the third Brewer ever to lead his league in that category and the first since Molitor led the AL in 1991. Braun also became the eighth player in Major League history with at least 100 runs, 100 RBIs, 200 hits, 30 homers, 20 stolen bases and a .300 average in the same season. 

The numbers keep on coming. Braun has 103 home runs in his first three Major League seasons, sixth-most in baseball history behind two active players — Pujols (114) and the Yankees’ Mark Texeira (107) — and three Hall of Famers — Ralph Kiner (114), Eddie Matthews (112), Joe DiMaggio (107). 

Brewers Silver Sluggers
Player                   Year            Position
Cecil Cooper          1980        First Base
Robin Yount           1980        Shortstop
Ben Oglivie            1980         Outfield
Cecil Cooper          1981         First Base
Cecil Cooper          1982         First Base
Robin Yount           1982         Shortstop
Paul Molitor           1987           DH
Paul Molitor           1988           DH
Robin Yount           1989         Outfield
Dave Parker           1990           DH
Carlos Lee              2005         Outfield
Prince Fielder         2007          First Base
Ryan Braun            2008          Outfield
Ryan Braun            2009          Outfield


Follow Brew Beat on Twitter.

1 Comment

Typo alert:

“and Cecil Cooper won the award as the AL first baseball in three straight seasons from 1980-82. ”

Cooper was awesome, but he was the baseman, not the ball.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: