No Walk of Fame inductees

The Miller Park Walk of Fame won’t grow again in 2011. 
None of the former Brewers and Braves players, managers or club officials on a ballot distributed to reporters and other voters received the 75 percent of the vote necessary for induction. The closest candidate was former Brewers right-hander Teddy Higuera, who fell short at 61 percent. That’s a slight drop from the previous year, when Higuera appeared on 64 percent of ballots. 
Higuera was the only Brewers player to receive votes from more than 50 percent of the electorate.  Former Brewers manager George Bamberger received 46 percent. Leading the way on the Braves side was former shortstop Johnny Logan, who also received 46 percent. 
Four other Brewers appeared on at least 30 percent of the ballots. Former Brewers outfielder Ben Oglivie made the cut for 39 percent of voters, former American League Cy Young Award winner Pete Vuvkovich was next at 35 percent and Mike Caldwell, who holds the franchise record with 81 complete games, garnered 33 percent. Former catcher Ted Simmons appeared on 30 percent of ballots. 
On the Braves side, only one player topped 30 percent besides Logan. Joe Adcock, the team’s first baseman in the 1957 and ’58 World Series, received 35 percent of votes.  
A record total of 57 ballots were returned this year and voters could select from among nine Milwaukee Braves and 32 Brewers.  The ballots included field personnel who wore a Brewers or Braves uniform for a minimum of three seasons but have been retired from playing or managing roles for at least three seasons. 
All players and managers who appeared on at least five percent of the ballots will remain eligible in 2012. 
Last year, former Braves pitcher Lew Burdette was the only player to make the cut. He was the first inductee since 2007, when Hall of Famers Eddie Mathews and Warren Spahn and former Braves GM John Quinn made the cut in the first year that Braves players and officials appeared on the ballot.  
Other inductees include Hank Aaron, Rollie Fingers, Paul Molitor, Robin Yount in 2001; Commissioner Bud Selig and Cecil Cooper in 2002; Bob Uecker and Harry Dalton in 2003; Jim Gantner and Gorman Thomas in 2004; and Don Money and Harvey Kuenn in 2005.  
Follow Brew Beat on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: