Braun wins NL MVP Award

Brewers left fielder Ryan Braun is the National League’s Most Valuable Player. He’ll address reporters in a BBWAA conference call at 2 p.m. CT and in another conference call with local reporters at 3 p.m. I will pass along some of his comments from both.

Braun beat the Dodgers’ Matt Kemp to become the first Brewer to win a league MVP award since Hall of Famer Robin Yount won for the second time in 1989, when Milwaukee was still an American League franchise. Prince Fielder finished third, giving the Brewers a pair of players in the top five for the first time since Yount won and Cecil Cooper ran fifth in the 1982 AL vote.

Braun was listed first on 20 ballots and second on the rest of the 32, submitted by two writers from each league city. He scored 388 points in a system that awarded 14 points for first place, nine for second, eight for third and on down to one point for 10th place.

Kemp received 10 first-place votes and was the runner-up with 332 points. Fielder received one first-place vote and finished third with 229 points. D-backs outfielder Justin Upton also received one first-place vote and was fourth with 214 points. Braun, Kemp, Fielder and Upton were the only players named on every ballot.


Follow Brew Beat on Twitter.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: