Results tagged ‘ Cody Hawn ’

Helena wins Pioneer League crown


Cody Hawn, the Brewers’ sixth-round pick in the most recent First-Year Player Draft out of the University of Tennessee, homered twice and drove in eight runs Thursday to lead rookie-level Helena to the Pioneer League championship.

Hawn led Helena with 13 homers and tied for the league lead with 61 RBIs in 65 regular season games. He had never driven in more than four runs in his 69 games as a pro.
“The last three months been above and beyond everything I thought and hoped,” he said. “There was something special about this team. Even back when we started, we had a unique chemistry. They’re a great bunch of guys. It makes winning tonight that much better.”
Also, Brewers farm director Reid Nichols is scheduled to take part in an online chat today at 1:30 p.m. CT. Fans will have to be registered with to participate, and you can do so at that link. 
Follow Brew Beat on Twitter

Brewers announce signing of 23 draft picks

MILWAUKEE — The Brewers announced on Sunday that they had signed 23 players from the 2010 First-Year Player Draft, as well well as one undrafted player.


Right-handers Tyler Thornburg and Matthew Miller, as well as third baseman Cody Hawn, selected in the third, fifth and sixth rounds, highlight the first 24 signees for the Brewers.

Overall, the Brewers have signed 12 pitchers — one of which is Marques Kyles, son of bullpen coach Stan Kyles — and 12 position players through Sunday.

Players will be reporting to either Helena, Mont., or Phoenix — a mini-camp will be held in each location and it will begin Monday.

Both Helena and Arizona begin their respective seasons on Monday, June 21st.

Below is a list of all 24 signees:

Tyler Thornburg, RHP, Charleston Southern, Round 3

Matthew Miller, RHP, Michigan, Round 5

Cody Hawn, 1B, Tennessee, Round 6

John Bivens, RF, Virginia State, Round 12

Mike Walker, 3B, Pacific, Round 14

Brian Garman, LHP, U of Cincinnati, Round 17

Shea Vucinich, SS, Washington State, Round 20

Kevin Berard, C, Barbe High School, Round 22

Ryan Bernal, RHP, Florida Atlantic, Round 23

Gregory Hopkins, 3B, St. John’s, Round 24

Nick Shaw, SS, Barry University, Round 25

Alex Jones, RHP, Jacksonville State, Round 27

Dane Amedee, LHP, LSU Eunice, Round 28

Daniel Britt, RHP, Elon University, Round 29

Eric Marzec, RHP, Youngstown State, Round 30

Mike Melillo, C, Elon University, Round 31

Jason Rogers, OF, Columbus State, Round 32

Seth Harvey, RHP, Washington State, Round 37

Michael Schaub, RHP, Loara High School, Round 38

Kenneth Allison, CF, Angelina JC, Round 39

John Dishon, CF, Louisiana State, Round 42

Thomas Mittelstaedt, RF, Long Beach State, Round 44

Marques Kyles, LHP, Limestone College, Round 48

Dexter Bobo, LHP, Georgia Southern, Undrafted

— Jordan Schelling, Associate Reporter